Books Similar to Fifty Shades of Grey

books similar to fifty shades of grey

If you’re looking for books similar to fifty shades of grey, you’re in luck. There are several titles in the erotic romance genre that are both popular and well-written. These titles include XOXO After Dark, Overruled, Anais Nin’s Delta of Venus, and J. Kenner’s trilogy. But before we get into them, let’s take a closer look at each of them.

XOXO After Dark

If you’re looking for a book that will remind you of the bestselling Fifty Shades of Grey, XOXO After Dark might be just the book for you. The novel is similar in premise to the Fifty Shades of Grey novel, but has a few key differences. The book is set in London and features a hot couple who fall for each other after meeting at a nightclub. Although both of these men are successful in their own right, the sexual content is a little darker. However, for Fifty fans, the XOXO After Dark novellas will satisfy their craving for a bit more seduction and a little more playfulness.

Overruled

In Overruled, a passionate trilogy by Emma Chase, readers will be treated to another romantic drama. This series is a FWB romance involving a defense attorney and his FWB fiancée Sofia Santos. While the two are in love, Stanton has a history with Sofia and needs her help in getting her back. The plot is very similar to Fifty Shades of Grey and it is sure to appeal to fans of both books.

Anais Nin’s Delta of Venus

If you’re interested in erotic literature, you may want to start with an erotic short story anthology by French author Anais Nin. Originally published in 1977, this collection of erotic short stories by a woman who was half French and half Cuban, is just as eye-opening as the new bestselling novel Fifty Shades of Grey. Anais Nin’s stories explore the sensual side of life and create a world where only love has meaning.

While Fifty Shades of Grey is by an Australian author, Nin is one of the first women to prominently publish erotica. Her stories are surprisingly sophisticated and challenging, and she is considered one of the greatest erotica writers in history. Many of her stories explore taboo themes without resorting to crudeness or shock effect. Instead, they are highly literary, sensual, and lushly written.

J. Kenner’s trilogy

In this New York Times best-selling novel, we meet Jackson Steele and Sylvia Brooks, two characters from the same world as Christian Grey and Anastasia Steele. Both are hard-headed and ambitious, and their love stories are complicated and twisted. But when a chance encounter leads to an explosive affair, Jackson is ready to make things right. The series concludes with the third installment, Beautiful Bastard, which is as addictive as the first two books.

There are many similarities between the books. Although both series focus on two wealthy and beautiful men, both are filled with betrayal and BDSM. Whether you’re a fan of a particular series, this is a great choice to get started. Just be sure to read the other books first. You can read these on Amazon, or you can start with the first one.

Sylvia Day’s Bared to You

The first book in the Crossfire series, Sylvia Day’s Bared To You is an erotic romance novel about wealthy alpha males. The plot follows a millionaire named Gideon Cross and his new assistant, Eva Tramell. Gideon is very possessive of Eva, but she is attracted to him anyway. The two begin to fall in love, but their relationship does not go as planned.

The characters in Bared to You do not start off with high hopes for a love story. They’re looking for a great sizzle between the sheets, but they’re not after the fabled romance that Fifty Shades of Grey has. Instead, they settle for a comfortable routine. And it’s here that we see the similarities.

Jamie McGuire’s Fifty Shades of Grey

The success of E. L. James’s Fifty Shades trilogy has spawned a whole fad for Grey series-like titles, with the publishing world scrambling to fill shelves with them. Unlike Twilight, where rampant ridiculousness was a barrier, Grey is not as racy. In fact, Anne Rice’s nearly thirty-year-old S&M retelling of Sleeping Beauty is available at Target stores.

The plot is similar to “Fifty Shades of Grey,” with kinky sex being a minor concern. While the sexual tension isn’t nearly as overblown in “Beautiful Disaster,” the characters are still intense, building the steamy scenes and sustaining the tension between them. The similarities don’t end there, however; Beautiful Disaster also started out as a self-published ebook and soared to New York Times bestseller status.

Shopping Cart