Books Similar to Harry Potter

books similar to harry potter

If you’re a fan of Harry Potter, there are many books similar to him that you’ll enjoy. Many of these stories feature a character with a magical power or an extraordinary talent. The characters are usually children or teenagers, and some of the best stories feature adventures that take place in a fantasy land. However, there are also stories that deal with real-life issues, such as bullying and the difficulties of life.

Pennyroyal Academy

If you love Harry Potter, you’re going to love the Pennyroyal Academy series. Set in the same fantasy world of Grimm’s fairytales, the series is for young readers who enjoy adventure and magic.

In the first book, a girl named Evie shows up in the kingdom of Pennyroyal, but she has no memory of herself. She must adjust to the new world while navigating the dangers of war. She’s also juggling new friendships and a rigorous training regimen.

The sequel, Shadow Cadets of Pennyroyal Academy, continues where the previous one left off. With some of the same characters, the series is full of suspense and a tragic romance. However, the story is not without its challenges, including mean girls and complicated relationships.

Scholomance

Scholomance is a magical school, but it’s not Hogwarts. The name comes from a legend of a mysterious magical school from the era of the olden days, supposedly a place where wizard children could safely practice their skills.

The Scholomance is a place of a sort, in which students go through four years of study. But the curriculum is not exactly what it sounds like. A more literal translation would be that the school is actually an enchanted library where the students memorize magic spells. This is a bit more complicated than it sounds, since spells are not only learned by memorization, but also by hard-to-master languages.

Lockwood and Co.

A new supernatural thriller is coming to Netflix in the form of Lockwood and Co. The show follows a group of teenagers who are gifted in the art of ghost hunting. They are tasked with solving mysteries and ridding London of deadly spirits.

The series was based on the books by Jonathan Stroud. It features a cast of young actors. Some of them include Ruby Stokes, Luke Treadaway, Ivanno Jeremiah, and Morven Christie.

The first season is set to last eight episodes. Each episode will be released on the same day.

His Dark Materials

His Dark Materials is a fantasy series written by Philip Pullman. It is a trilogy of novels that have all received praise from readers and critics. The books are set in a fictional universe populated by magic, demons, angels, humans, daemons, and a host of other supernatural beings. This fantasy epic is a retelling of John Milton’s epic poem Paradise Lost.

The series follows Lyra Bellaqua, an eleven-year-old girl. As the story progresses, Lyra finds herself in a world of parallel universes. She must travel through them to reach her goal of finding the alethiometer.

The Titan’s Curse

The Titan’s Curse is a novel written by Rick Riordan. It is the third book in the series of the same name. Percy Jackson is a demigod son of Poseidon, and has been sent to a boarding school. During his time there, he rescues half-bloods. But a monster is rumored to be so powerful that it can destroy Olympus.

The book begins with the gang preparing for a battle against two unknown half-bloods. Percy is then sent to Camp Half-Blood with other divine kids. There, he meets Grover Underwood, a satyr.

Percy Jackson and the Olympians

The Percy Jackson and the Olympians is a fantasy series. Written by Rick Riordan, the books are a mixture of Greek myths and modern American culture. It has been a huge hit, with more than 60 million copies sold in 35 countries worldwide.

Besides writing the series, Rick Riordan also wrote the 39 Clues series. These are a spin-off of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians. Each of the five books in the series has its own cast of main characters, and each one of these characters grows up with the passage of time.

Fablehaven

Fablehaven is a series of fantasy novels written by Brandon Mull. It follows the adventures of siblings Kendra and Seth Sorenson. The books are set in the magical world of Fablehaven. This fictional place is a sanctuary for mythical creatures and wildlife. A group of rogues protects the mystical preserve.

These books are ideal for kids and teens. Kids will be able to finish them quickly. They also feature a great cast of characters. Many of the characters from the original series continue to appear in the Fablehaven sequels.