Books Similar to Harry Potter

books similar to harry potter

If you like Harry Potter, you may want to check out some of the books that are similar to the magical series. Some of the books include the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, the Inkworld series, and the Graceling series. If you’d prefer to skip the series, there are also other books that are similar to Harry Potter. If you’re not quite ready to become a wizard, you can also read the original fairy tale, Alice in Wonderland. It is about a young girl who learns about magic, but also discovers that bad luck might not be so bad after all.

Percy Jackson and the Olympians

If you’re a fan of Harry Potter, you might like Percy Jackson and the Olympians. The series features a teenage boy who is half god and half human who fights for humanity. It is very similar to the Harry Potter series in that the main character is a demi-god, and he comes with cool accessories to match. These books have sold over 69 million copies worldwide, and they have spawned several movies, graphic novels, and video games.

While some of the plots are very similar to Harry Potter’s, there are some significant differences. For example, the books take place during the summer. Most of the story takes place at half-blood summer camp, instead of school. As a result, there are fewer school scenes in Percy Jackson, and the movies focus on the summer camp only. Lastly, the books and movies are shorter than the Harry Potter series.

Inkworld series

While Harry Potter may be a favorite childhood book for many, the Inkworld series of fantasy novels is just as magical and exciting. This series of fantasy books follows a father-daughter duo who are both gifted readers. The story revolves around a young girl named Meggie who has the power to bring fictional characters to life. Upon discovering why her mother left them, Meggie begins to unravel.

Among the many books that are similar to Harry Potter are Secrets of the Immortal Nicolas Flamel, written by Naomi Novak. This series is a mix of magical boarding school and young wizards. Its first novel, Shadow and Bone, follows the life of an Orphan girl named Alina Starkov. She discovers her true self and her powers, and she works to save the land by harnessing these powers. This book is a great first read for young fantasy fans.

Lockwood and Co. series

If you like the Harry Potter series, you might enjoy Jonathan Stroud’s Lockwood and Co. series. This five-book series features a young heroine, Lucy Carlyle, who has all the heart and humor of the beloved wizard. The series has a definite Harry Potter flavor, with its mystical elements and supernatural encounters. However, it’s not a straight-up copy of the Harry Potter books.

In the first book in the series, Lockwood and Lucy begin their investigation by investigating the occult activity of a mysterious apparition. As the investigation continues, Lucy is drawn into the mystery, stirring up personal forces that have never been revealed before. As the story continues, it becomes more disturbing, and the plot of the first book is never quite resolved. But it’s still worth checking out.

Graceling series

The Graceling series is a YA fantasy novel. Gracelings are rare people born with extreme skill. In this series, Katsa, the niece of a king, is a Graceling who possesses the ability to kill with her bare hands. She decides to help Po, but in the process she learns a terrible truth about herself and her ability. This series is a fan favorite.

Another fantasy series similar to Harry Potter is the Graceling series by Kristin Cashore. The Graceling trilogy is a dark fantasy that follows four English schoolchildren into a world of magic and the power of creativity. The characters are all gifted with special talents, such as the ability to kill. The books are also great for high school students, and a few of them are even better than Harry Potter. Among these are the first two books in the series, The Darkest Corner and The Lost Ones.

His Dark Materials series

If you’re a fan of the Harry Potter series, you’ll likely find the His Dark Materials series fascinating. The series is based on a Philip Pullman trilogy and centers on the life of Lyra Belacqua, an orphan who lives in a magical alternate world. Lyra was left by her uncle, Lord Asriel Belacqua, when he fled to Jordan College, Oxford. Lyra’s ‘daemon’, Pantalaimon, is a companion and helps her solve puzzles, but only after she gets to know it. She meets a host of characters and encounters several creatures, including talking polar bears, cliff-ghasts, and the magical Pantalaimon.

The series is written by Philip Pullman and has been compared to the Harry Potter series in many ways. While there are many similarities, it is important to note that His Dark Materials is not aimed at children. Despite being a fantasy, the series is not sexually explicit. The author of the series, however, is an atheist, and supports Humanists UK. While there are similarities between the two series, the writing style is vastly different.

Shopping Cart