Books Similar to Harry Potter

books similar to harry potter

If you are looking for books similar to Harry Potter, you’ve come to the right place. This list contains titles by J. K. Rowling such as Children of Blood and Bone, Ink and Bone, and Shadow and Bone. Each of these books has movie adaptations and minor spinoffs.

Ink and Bone

If you enjoy reading fantasy novels, you will love Ink and Bone books. Written by Rachel Caine, they take place in a world where the Great Library of Alexandria never burned down and where knowledge is more important than life. The story follows Jess Brightwell, who is forced to join the Library’s service by her family. She soon learns that knowledge is more important than life.

This fantasy novel is a must-read for any Harry Potter fan. It is full of thrilling adventures, a magical world, and a strong protagonist. It follows the life of Alina, a young girl who can walk on walls and learns that she has more powers than meets the eye. Cassandra Clare is another author of books similar to Harry Potter.

Children of Blood and Bone

Children of Blood and Bone is a much anticipated debut fantasy novel. In addition to being a high fantasy book, it deals with real issues, including police killings of unarmed black men, the politics of black hair, and death. It is also a fantasy novel for young adult readers with a powerful message. It is written by 23-year-old Tomi Adeyemi, a Nigerian-American author.

The story centers around a young girl named Zelie. Zelie’s parents have destroyed her magic, and when she is young, the king killed everyone with magical powers. Later, she learns that she has the ability to restore the magic to her people. She must overcome her own fears and regain her magic in order to save her people.

Shadow and Bone

If you love the Harry Potter series, you’ll definitely want to check out the new Shadow and Bone books. The world of Shadow and Bone is filled with dangerous monsters and a young orphan named Alina. She’s on a mission to learn her true nature and powers while trying to save the land she loves from the dark forces. Although the story is a little different from the Harry Potter books, it’s incredibly captivating and has the potential to become a favorite.

The plot is similar to Harry Potter, but there’s also a darker tone to this YA fantasy series. There’s a mysterious Dragon and dark forces, and it takes place in a world of fantasy and hidden magic. In the first book, Vasya and her new step-mother must fight off the Darkling, who controls the fate of magic.

Ninth House

The Ninth House is a character study, a plot-driven mystery, and an exploration of societal greed and trauma. Although it shares many similarities with Harry Potter, the books are not the same. If you enjoy reading books with magical elements, The Ninth House will be right up your alley.

The Ninth House follows Alex Stern, a homicide survivor who receives a full-ride to Yale. While attending the prestigious college, Alex has the ability to see ghosts. She’s also given a job watching the secret societies of Yale, including the eight Houses of the Veil, places where dark occult magic is practiced. This is a dangerous world, and Alex must navigate it to stay alive.

Eragon

While there is plenty to love about Harry Potter and the Harry Potter series, Eragon is a much more modern fantasy world. While the world of Goredd has been at peace for forty years, tensions are reaching breaking point after the death of a member of the royal family. When a young girl named Seraphina Dombegh is assigned to investigate the death, she uncovers secrets of her own and that of her partner, Prince Lucian Kiggs. The plot is fast-paced and a lot of action is included, so young Eragon fans will have a blast reading this series.

This book series has been a popular choice for younger readers and has won numerous awards. The main character, Eragon, is a poor farm boy who discovers a polished blue stone while foraging for food. The discovery of this stone takes him on a journey that takes him through a magical world where he encounters the legendary Dragon Riders. In addition to the Dragon Riders, a mysterious 12-year-old girl named Meggie is introduced to the series. She must learn to harness her powers in order to save her father.

Shopping Cart