Books Similar to Harry Potter

books similar to harry potter

If you haven’t read the Harry Potter series yet, there are several books similar to the popular young adult fantasy series. You can start with the Children of Blood and Bone series by Alwyn Hamilton, a Canadian author born in Toronto. You can also try Lockwood and Co. series by Lev Grossman, or Eragon. These books will make you wonder if it’s possible to find a book similar to the Harry Potter series without reading the first one.

Children of Blood and Bone

While the series may be based on the same world as the Harry Potter books, Children of Blood and Bone is more a fantasy than a wizarding novel. Its themes are similar to those of the Harry Potter series, but the novel is written for a younger audience. Although it’s not in the same league as Harry Potter, it’s still an excellent read for fans of both series.

The children of Blood and Bone series focuses on the lives of kings, so it’s a good fit for young adults. The series centers on the ambitions of three female characters who vie for the throne of the ailing king. They are Gaela, a ruthless commander, Regan, a brilliant manipulator, and Elia, a star-blessed priest. Each woman is willing to do whatever it takes to win the crown.

Lockwood and Co. series

A number of fantasy books have incorporated wish-fulfillment as a central theme, and many of these have proven very popular. The Harry Potter series and the Narnia Chronicles are two examples of popular fantasy novels that do this. The five-book Lockwood and Co. series is narrated by Lucy Carlyle, a young witch who dreams of becoming a wizard. A number of its characters are also similar to those of Harry Potter, including the muddle-headed Professor Snape and his sidekick.

The second novel in this series features the team’s investigations of an elderly occultist. Their team visits the National Newspaper Archives to gather clues. The team also investigates a crypt where unsettling spirits reside. The crypt is the final resting place of the infamous ghost hunter Marissa Fittes. However, the team have their suspicions. What’s more, Lucy is distracted by urgent whispers from a ghost jar.

Lev Grossman’s Magicians series

If you like the Harry Potter series, then you’ll love Lev Grossman’s Magicians series. These books are fantasy novels about people who never give up despite the odds. The series has been adapted into a successful television series on Syfy. It has received positive reviews from readers. Here’s why. Lev Grossman was born in 1969. His parents were poet Allen Grossman and novelist Judith Grossman. His siblings, Austin and Bathsheba, are both artists.

The first book in the Magicians series, The Magicians, was published in 2012. The author earned acclaim for it, earning an Alex Award – given to adult books with a strong affinity for young adults. It also won the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer. After the success of The Magicians, Grossman shifted his focus to writing about his family. He realized that he needed to write in a “dad’s voice.” This approach made The Magicians series a hit.

Eragon

In the world of fantasy books, the Eragon series has a lot of similarities with Harry Potter. Eragon is a farm boy who stumbles upon an egg of a dragon. As the hatchling grows into a dragon, the tyrant king Galbatorix sends his servants after him. As the child of a dragon, Eragon is destined to become a dragon Rider and must learn how to use his newfound magic skills to fight the evil king. The series is so popular that it has been translated into several languages.

The hero of the series is Percy Jackson, son of Poseidon. He struggles with dyslexia and is forced to learn the truth about his destiny by a satyr. He and his new friends, including the goddess Athena’s daughter, are sent to a boarding school known as Camp Half-Blood to learn the ways of the gods and help prevent an apocalyptic war between the Greek gods.

Jonathan Stroud

If you’ve ever enjoyed the Harry Potter series, you’ll love these Jonathan Stroud books. Stroud writes fantasy for young adults and children, and is best known for his Bartimaeus Trilogy, which explores the tropes of demons and magicians. He is married with two children, and his wife is an illustrator. He also writes nonfiction pieces. This article will look at the similarities and differences between these books.

The Amulet of Samarkand is a fantasy novel that has elements of magic. In this story, the female protagonist, Cass, has the power to see the future and control spirits, and the other twins are all connected. It’s a fantastical world, but it does have its problems. The pacing is inconsistent, and the magical scenes lack the magic of the Harry Potter series.

Shopping Cart