What Books Should I Read?

what books should i read

If you’re a book lover, you may want to start with a thriller like The Shining, by Stephen King. The novel was adapted into a movie with Jack Nicholson and tells the story of a middle-aged man named Jack Torrance who lands a job as the off-season caretaker at a hotel called Overlook. However, the setting quickly becomes sinister and confining. The result is one of the scariest novels of all time.

The Fault in Our Stars

Based on a 2012 novel by John Green, The Fault in Our Stars is a 2014 American coming-of-age romance film. It stars Shailene Woodley, Ansel Elgort, Laura Dern, Sam Trammell, and Nat Wolff. Wille Dafoe also stars in supporting roles.

The story follows sixteen-year-old Hazel Grace Lancaster’s battle with cancer. She has stage-four metastatic cancer and must carry an oxygen canister everywhere she goes. To cope with the disease, she attends cancer support groups. One of these meetings brings her and Augustus Waters together. He is a former basketball player and amputee. Hazel finds that Augustus is a perfect match for her, despite his disease.

The Catcher in the Rye

The Catcher in the Rye is a classic coming-of-age novel by J.D. Salinger, first published as a serial in 1945-1946 and then published as a novel in 1951. It is a novel about a boy’s struggle to become an adult while still remaining true to himself. The story is set in 1950s New York, and the protagonist, Holden Caulfield, is 16 years old when the book begins. He’s just out of school, and is battling the forces of growing up. The book is a classic, and its protagonist has become a symbol of the post-war generation’s alienation and dissatisfaction.

While some critics argue that this novel alienated young readers, many people view it as one of the most influential works of American literature since World War II. Although the novel’s content is not perfect, the themes it explores are still relevant.

The Lord of the Flies

William Golding’s 1954 novel The Lord of the Flies is about a group of British boys stranded on a remote island, and their disastrous attempt to govern themselves. The novel is a great read for anyone who enjoys fiction and the human condition. It’s a great example of the importance of imagination, even in our modern world.

The novel explores the conflict between competing impulses. In a sense, civilization is about following rules, while savagery is about acting violently. Ultimately, the desire to be in control and live according to rules triumphs over empathy, and Jack becomes a cruel leader. Meanwhile, Piggy and Ralph have a more humanistic view of the world, and even get involved in the mass murder of Simon and his friends.

Jane Eyre

The novel Jane Eyre was published in 1847 and became a sensation almost immediately. It is a classic book that is both a romantic novel and a gothic novel. The book tells the story of a young girl who lost her parents and found herself in a dire situation. The book focuses on the woman’s search for happiness and her struggle to overcome her circumstances.

Charlotte Bronte began work on Jane Eyre in 1846, shortly after she had been rejected for her novel The Professor. She finished it in 1847, during a period of white heat. Thackeray’s daughter later wrote that Charlotte was “swept away by a whirlwind”.

The Hobbit

The Hobbit is a wonderful adventure novel that’s perfect for kids and adults alike. It’s set in the beautiful English countryside, where Bilbo and his friends face a variety of creatures, including Elves, Dwarves, Goblins, Eagles, Wizards, and more. The story takes readers on an incredible journey through the misty mountains and into the mysterious world of the Shire.

The series consists of four main novels and two expanded stories. These books are supplemental materials that complement the original novels. The stories were compiled from notes and scraps of paper from J.R.R. Tolkien and other writers. The expanded stories are especially fascinating because they reveal new details that may not be apparent from the original story.

The Grapes of Wrath

The Grapes of Wrath is a novel by John Steinbeck. It was published in 1939 and won the National Book Award. The book is set in the Midwest and centers on a family who has suffered a terrible loss. The book has a strong storyline and is considered a classic.

The book has sold 14 million copies worldwide, but it’s not been without controversy. Although it was a critical and commercial success, many communities criticized it. The Associated Farmers of California publicly burned copies of the novel. Many farmers felt Steinbeck had portrayed them unfairly in the book. Eventually, a local executive declared the book libelous and banned it from school and county libraries.

Shopping Cart